EYFS Curriculum

Welcome to our EYFS page.

Hi, I am Gaynor and I am the Base Leader for Acorns Base and the teacher with responsibility for our Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) department. These are our pupils aged 3-5 years of age.

Our EYFS department is in Acorns Base.

We are a very active Base and really enjoy lots of physical movement through our school day.

Our outdoor provision is used daily and provides inviting learning experiences outside in the fresh air. We have a large outdoor learning area with a climbing frame, slide and swings. We use the middle area to engage in a wide range of music and movement based activities, where all the pupils in Base can engage in meaningful, adult directed activities. Please ensure your child brings a suitable coat to school as we are fortunate enough to be able to access our outdoor provision in all weathers due to having a covered outdoor area.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life. Children start to learn about the world around them from the moment they are born. We promote the key skills of curiosity, investigation, anticipation, flexibility and resilience to do this by providing all of our EYFS pupils with engaging activities that are appropriate for their age and stage of development.
The curriculum within the Early Years Foundation Stage is planned around four main themes:

A Unique Child Positive relationships Enabling Environments Learning and Development
Every child is a competent learner from  birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured. Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and or/key person. The environment plays a  key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning. Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development and            inter-connected.


 7 Areas of Learning and Development 

Our pre-fives are working from modified Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum Guidance (2014) which is used in all Nurseries and Early Years settings. There are 7 areas of Learning and Development that shape the EYFS curriculum. The 3 Prime areas are; Communication and Language, Physical Development and Personal, Social and Emotional Development. The 4 Specific areas are; Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design.

Permeating the curriculum are the three characteristics of effective learning which include playing and learning (engagement), active learning (motivation) and creating and thinking critically (thinking).

Three Prime Areas of Learning and Development 
(click on each button for more information and photographs)


and four Specific Areas of Learning and Development (click on each button for more information and photographs)